The building was constructed in 1922 as a practical memorial to the dead of World War 1, and you can read all about the hall history here. The hall is listed on the official war memorial register kept by the Imperial War Museum in London.
The village lies in two parishes, Llanymynech and Moreton, with the hall itself in Moreton. The hall had its own WW1 memorial plaque, but sadly this was lost many years ago. However In November 2018 we were gifted the Roll of Honour for Morton parish. This unique and fragile document is in the safekeeping of Oswestry Town Museum on long-term loan, and a copy is displayed in the hall. Read about the men on the Morton Parish Roll of honour on this link.
The men from the Llanymynech Parish part of the village are commemorated at St Agatha’s church, Llanymynech. Read more about those from Llanymynech parish side on this link.
The building is also the home for the commemorative plaque for the men of Pant lost during World War II. Read more about our WW2 casualties here. The plaque is also recorded on the war memorials register.
We commemorated the centenary of the World War 1 armistice with an artwork, celebrating the history and landscapes of our village. Read all about the #Armistice100 artwork here.
“At the going down of the sun, and in the morning – we will remember them”